The Six Spiritual Maturity Levels

1. The Community

The community is made up of everyone you have the potential to reach on a given Sunday. But for the most part, they are unchurched. They likely haven’t decided to follow Jesus yet.

2. The Crowd 

The crowd consists of all the people who attend Bayview on a regular basis. They consider  themselves to be part of Bayview even if they haven’t joined it yet. But they’re not really involved beyond attending on Sundays.

3. The Congregation

The congregation includes everyone who attends and who has become a member of Bayview. These are people who attend regularly, give regularly, and support the vision and values of your church.

4. The Committed

These believers are not only members who attend, but they walk with God and are growing up spiritually. From our preaching calendar to the structure of our Impact groups, we must be intentional about creating pathways for people to grow from one level of commitment to the next.

5. The Core

Among the committed is people who get involved and serve others through the ministries of Bayview. The Core is generally those who give their time and their loyalty to Bayview.

6. The Commissioned

Our big goal for moving people from the community all the way to the core is ultimately to send them back out again to reach more of the community. When people are committed, growing, and serving, we should be preparing them to be sent out on missions. Then they become the commissioned.